The /media directory is present in every default installation of WB, assuming that you haven't defined a different directory in WebsiteBaker Settings. It is where you - and your users - should upload files that you want to use in your site – such as images or movies you intend to show in your pages, downloadable documents to which you wish to provide links, etc.
You use the “Media” section of your Admin to manage the contents of the /media directory of your WB site.
Through the Media section, you can upload files, create sub-directories - to help keep the /media directory more organised and manageable - as well as rename and delete these files and sub-directories.
The “Browse Media” section provides you with an interface to manage the files and sub-directories of the /media directory of your WB site. You can upload, view, rename, and delete files and sub-directories directly from your Admin -> Media section of WB – no other program is needed.
Some Administrators, however, prefer to use other software – such as their own favourite ftp client - to upload files to the /media directory. If you have just uploaded items into the /media directory, or its sub-directories, using a software other than WB, then the list you see in “Browse Media” may not be up-to-date, and may not reflect the true content of the directory. Click the “Reload” button to force WB to refresh the view, and show the full contents of the current directory.
In the “Browse Media” list, you may see files, as well as sub-directories. The current directory being displayed appears in the title bar of the list:
Click on a file's name to open it with your browser. Click on a directory's name – or on the 'folder' icon next to it – to display it in the “Browse Media” list.
Once inside a folder/sub-directory, click on the “Up” icon to get out of it.
You can rename any file or folder/sub-directory, by clicking its “Rename” button.
Normally, WB will not allow you to use a name that is already in use by a file/folder in the same directory. If you tick “Overwrite existing File/Folder”, however, WB will delete the other file/folder, and then rename yours – yours will replace the existing one.
You can then enter the file/folder's new name – and file extension.
You can delete any file or folder/sub-directory, by clicking its “delete” icon.
Note: Deletion is permanent and irreversible!
Your “media” folder can be setup as a shared workgroup directory, for a small workgroup – where each user has his/her own private space. To find out more, consult this reference guide on General Settings .